San Miguel de Allende: See it to believe it

What I love about living in the day and age of social media is that I discover inspiration everyday from other people’s experiences. Although the pros vs. cons are debatable, there’s no doubt that I feel I am learning more about the world through others. That’s exactly how I discovered this little gem, San Miguel de Allende- via Instagram- and I am so glad I did. Visiting every little nook and cranny in this city was like discovering gold and I definitely did not spend enough time to do this place justice, but here’s a peek into this quaint town in central Mexico.

La Finestra

The days in San Miguel de Allende were hot and long, so it was only fitting to have an ice cream break….or multiple ice cream breaks. We literally stumbled into an alley and was invited into this cafe by its foreign owner.

IMG_1782

Mama Mia

As we explored the town, we began to discover that San Miguel De Allende is a cultural mecca. From foreign settlers to local vendors, there was such a fusion of cultures all around. A good example of that was the handful of Italian restaurants scattered throughout the city. This one in particular was lively, delicious and all around a fun time.

IMG_1802

Artisan Market

One of the city’s famed attractions is the artisan market held in the town center. Local vendors display their handmade goods in a series of stalls that seem to go on forever. We spent a few hours getting lost in the maze of goodies.

IMG_1883

Views

I interrupt this series of actual places with a breathtaking view of simple street in this town. Just wow.

IMG_1801

La Sacristia

I am a sucker for coffee shops. Honestly, I feel like that’s one of the best ways to visit any place. You can always get some good advice from the locals who own the joint, do a little people watching, while sipping a latte. Does anything sound better than that? I think not.

IMG_1895

Rosewood Hotel

Ok. We completely found this place by accident. I believe it was fate that brought me here and I am oh-so lucky for that. We were wandering the streets on our last night in the city and we ran into a American woman who asked us if we needed help and to be honest, we were a little lost haha. She had moved to the town from Chicago 3 years ago when she retired and absolutely loved this place. She pointed us towards all her favorite spots and that’s how we ended up with this gorgeous view. Ok, I am going to stop talking and let you stare at this view.

IMG_1943IMG_1959

Happy, because I wouldn’t have done this trip in any other way.

IMG_1914

Outfit: Dress from xomandysue and bag from asos

 

Leave a comment