Turning off in Tulum

 

Unfortunately as much as I had enjoyed this vacation, work hit me hard once I got back, so this post was delayed. But, in either case, here it is!

This destination has been high up on my list for quite a long time and this trip couldn’t have come at a better time. After what has seemed like forever, I finally took my first official time off from work and it couldn’t have been better well spent.

I spent much of my time lazing around on the beach and eating all the acai bowls my stomach would accept.

 

Coco Limited Tulum

Honestly, picking a hotel in Tulum was extremely difficult, because I had too many good options to pick from. However, I settled on Coco Limited Tulum. There are 2 Coco hotels in Tulum and the cool thing about the one we stayed at was that it was designed to be as eco-friendly as possible. Never felt as relaxed as this hotel made me feel while I was there.

IMG_1451

Below, is the other Coco Tulum hotel with the most amazing beach bar:

IMG_1474

Ojo de Agua

This restaurant was the first of many that I fell in love with in Tulum. Just a short walk from our hotel, Ojo de Agua has an amazing selection of breakfast options that include all natural ingredients and support a clean eating diet. Not only was the food great, but the decor and ambiance was just so hip and laid back. As was much of the rest of the city.

IMG_1465

Gitano

For our first dinner in Tulum, we picked a spot that came highly recommended. With a seasonal menu, that is as unique and eclectic as it gets, my stomach was more than content. This was the first time I had vegan ceviche, and it’s official-  I am a fan.

IMG_1462

Gran Cenote and Cenote Dos Ojos

Tulum has cenotes galore and you can’t really go wrong with any of them. We visited 2 while we were there, both wonderful in their own ways. However, you may find that some are more crowded than others.

IMG_1555

Le Hoja Verde

You may have started picking up on the trend here. There were too many intriguing food places for me not to be eating at least 4 times a day. Coming up on around 3 years of being vegetarian, Le Hoja Verde pulled on my heartstrings with it’s amazing vegetarian selection. However, I must say that I did keep it simple and went with guacamole. What can I say? I’m a sucker for guac.

IMG_1594

Posada Margherita

Do I really need to explain myself or can I just let the views sink in? Everything about this beachy ambiance made it such a relaxing night. From this window, I witnessed once of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen. And the food good was too, but that was definitely secondary for me.

IMG_1612

Casa del Cenote

On the last day we were there, we decided to finally get off the beach and take a mini hike up to these beautiful ruins. The views were stunning. I don’t even think I can describe the color palette that we witnessed.

IMG_1686

IMG_1649

Nomade

I’ve seen so many pictures of this hotel and I couldn’t help myself but to go check it out. After a mini-hike, we went and indulged an extensive brunch buffet with all healthy options of course. This bohemian vibe is something I’ve only dreamed of and Tulum has made it a reality.

IMG_1692

Matcha Mama

If you know me, you know I can’t live without my matcha. We scoured Tulum for this place and finally, came across this little shack and enjoyed a nice iced matcha. Honestly, that’s all you need to know: matcha and cute.

IMG_1725

Mamasan

Jungle. Rooftop. Bar. And smiling man. That’s all you need to know. Just kidding. This bar had such a cool selection of drinks and great views. You definitely felt like you were in the middle of a jungle.

IMG_1738

Canopia

So you wouldn’t really think to eat Thai food in the middle of Mexico, but this place was definitely a good eat. With the open concept floor plan and very inviting aromas, this restaurant was too hard to turn down.

IMG_1754

Leave a comment